?

Log in

About this Journal
This community is to review Winnipeg Restaurants. Tell us everything about your experience. How was the food? The service? The atmosphere? What kind of dishes did you have? Would you go back? Did they have good prices? What was the menu like? Was there a dish that stood out above the rest?

Tell us EVERYTHING!
Current Month
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031
Jan. 13th, 2007 @ 12:22 pm Dine Out Winnipeg
Ok, it's Dine Out Winnipeg time. I'm thinking about Be One Korean Restaurant and Taste of Sri Lanka. Any other recommendations? What about The Melting Pot?
About this Entry
skrype:
Jan. 9th, 2007 @ 10:05 pm (no subject)
Hi,

I'll be coming to Winnipeg in late May/early June for a week's visit. What sorts of things are there to see and do? Where should we eat?

We will not have a car and will be coming in for the Canadian Bridge Week, staying at the Clarion Hotel.

Thanks!

Susie
About this Entry
me
susiev:
Dec. 11th, 2006 @ 07:32 pm Paragon - Carlton Hotel
I went to this place for a late lunch today, I've walked past this place a number of times. I'd never thought of having lunch here until my boyfriend asked about it. I remember going to this place when it had a different name it was a Greek restaurant in the late 80s early 90s, a friend of mine had taken me to that place.

My boyfriend and I walked in, looked at the menu and it was Greek food. We thought 'Hey, why not. The Greek's can't go wrong.' The food was amazing and the price of their luncheon menu was perfect. I had the steak sandwich was $12.99 but they charged me $1.00 more I didn't raise a big stink about it and they did forget to bring me my Greek salad, again, I didn't raise a stink. I had absolutely no space for it and I would have wasted the food. The steak was cooked to my liking, medium rare, it took me no effort in cutting it. I had the fries, perfect, I didn't get the gravy, thankfully. My boyfriend had some ground sirloin steak, it tasted okay, I'm not into ground sirloin steak or any salisbury steak stuff so whatever. He enjoyed his meal which came with veggies soup or salad. His meal was $9.99 and was super filling, it also came with a bread basket of french bread and multigrain bread.

The service was pleasant, she didn't come by 5 minutes after she served the food, I guess that was okay. The place was quiet around the time we were there which was about 3:30pm. They usually have business people there for lunch and the waitress mentioned to me that if we like jazz music that on Friday nights after 5:30pm until 9ish they have a live band playing, and it's a more upbeat jazz band. That sounds like a plan. I asked what the clientele was like and she said they have a mixture of the crowd. She mentioned the types of people that stay in the hotel are from the reserves and they usually sit in the dining area and the people that stay for jazz are a mix of people. I guess my boyfriend and I will have to check it out one of these days and let you know.

But I was quite impressed with the food. You know, I've been to the Garwood Grill for steak and eggs and was NOT impressed, it was dry and without flavour. This place was great and cooked to perfection. It's a great place for a quick fix. But if I want to go for a really good steak it would be either NV, The Keg around Whyte Ridge, or Rae and Jerry's. Quick fix would be Paragon or Kristina's.

Check this place out and you can't go wrong especially for location because it's downtown right by the convention centre and the Delta hotel.
About this Entry
monkey
dr_seussie:
Dec. 10th, 2006 @ 09:55 pm Longhorn Texas Steakhouse
Current Mood: disappointeddisappointed
So, the Brannigans up our way disappeared.

We're not sure when it went away, but it was in the last couple of weeks. One time we drive by, it's a Brannigans. The next time we drive by, it's a Longhorn Texas Steakhouse. plonq, fetlock and I decided to pop by there tonight for dinner. I've been to the Longhorn Steakhouses in the States, and it was a pretty good place, so I thought this would be worth checking out.

It's done up in a typical "western" theme, although they still have a lot of work to do to disguise the fact that it used to be a Brannigans. (Removing the giant frosted glass room dividers with the script "B" on them would be a good start.) We were greeted and seated promptly and given menus. That's when I realized this wasn't the Longhorn that I'd known. The menu, although it had the little Longhorn icons, was not the same as the menu I remembered. It seemed a bit sparse, but I thought - hey, they just started up, give them some time.

I ordered a ribeye, plonq got a porterhouse, and fetlock ordered the beef skillet. We also got one of their "flowering" onions... And it's when that arrived we knew we were not in for a treat.

I've had the bloomin' onion at Outback, and Tony Roma's here has a similar menu item. This was a bloomin' onion done very poorly. Instead of using a sweet onion, it was done with a regular yellow onion. The batter was mediocre, and it didn't seem to have been cooked properly. The batter was all mostly cooked, but the onion was still quite raw in the middle. The sauce that came with it could have conceivably saved the dish, but it just didn't seem to go with the onion.

We also got the salad bar with our dinners. It would have been ok, if we hadn't paid $3.99 for it. As it was, for the price it was a pretty lame salad bar. There were two types of greens, some potato salad, sliced beets, a few dressings, cut veggies, some toppings, and a few other things. That's it. Like I said, though, this place was just getting going... Maybe they hadn't figured out their full spread yet.

Then our main courses arrived. Out of our three dinners, there was one thing that was good: plonq's mashed potatoes. Everything else was either mediocre or less. The mashed potatoes had a nice texture and flavor, but my fries were a bit limp and bland. Come to think of it, that described a lot of the food we had tonight: bland. It was as if the chefs were afraid to use spices. The batter for the onion was bland. Our steaks - really nice cuts of meat, well marbled and cooked just right - had no seasoning at all. My steak tasted charred, and that's it. There didn't seem to be any marinating, no spice rub, nothing. If they were seasoned at all, it was really really subtle. The veggies were kinda blah as well. fetlock's skillet dish was a disappointment as well, with chewy bits of meat tossed with tasteless veggies and rice.

When we were asked if we wanted to see a dessert menu, we declined.

The service was fairly attentive and pleasant, so no complaints there. I thought about expressing my disappointment in our dishes to the waitress, but I pondered whether there was anything really wrong with our meals, or if we just didn't like them. Now, technically, anytime that you don't like a meal it's because you don't like the way in which it was cooked, but everything came out as advertised. Bland, tasteless, but as advertised. We discussed it a bit and decided that we just didn't like the food, and that's not something to complain about. (On the other hand, I was *this* close to walking over to a neighboring table and introducing myself to the occupants, because they kept staring at us. Like, really staring. Turning around and staring. Walking by our table to the salad bar and staring. It was kinda creepy.)

So, thumbs up for prompt and friendly service. Thumbs down for food, menu selections, and weird clientelle. I'm willing to give this place another shot in a year (or more) - once I've forgotten how sad I was that my steak was so boring. Hopefully they can get the kinks out of their system, figure out a logo that makes it clear they are NOT affiliated with the US chain (and if they are, I have a letter to write), and realize that good food needs good spices.

(x-posted to my journal)
About this Entry
bugbear
atara:
Sep. 25th, 2006 @ 06:36 pm happy birthday to me
Current Mood: curiouscurious
Ok, so it's my 20th birthday on the 17th of october (which is a tuesday) and we always go out for diner for everyone's birthday and they get to pick where. So as it's my turn to pick i have no idea where i want to go. I want somewhere tastey that idealy isn't a franchise like moxies or earls but has similar food that can please everyone you know? and is around that price point. I would also like it if we would be able to bring my 3 year old niece along instead of getting a babysitter.
I hope you guys can suggest something different and tastey. I also am a fan of free desert. haha. Oh and if it could be somewhere on the south-ish side of the city that would be awsome. well, south or east.

i can't wait to see what you guys suggest!

thanx!
About this Entry
yesterdaysapple:
Sep. 21st, 2006 @ 10:54 pm Intro survey + Captain's table?

What is your favorite restaurant? This will sound very silly, but Pizza Hut.

What is your favorite dish there? They have the best caesar salad I've ever tasted and I actually go there just for that... although I love the pizza too, but man that caesar...

What is your favorite type of food? Perhaps North American is the word for it. Normal? 

How many times a week do you go out to eat? Depends on the week, but usually once or so.

What is the worst restaurant/dining experience that you have had? I've never had a really bad one. Inattentive/slow/forgetful service, cold food, the usual stuff that can happen anywhere.

Anything else you would like to add: I'm an extremely picky eater; the kind that is willing to try new things, just rarely likes them. I work in a restaurant and I tell the chefs it's the highest compliment when I like something, and they always get me to taste stuff. This also means I'm pickier about good service.


I have a question right off the hop for you fine folks. I'll be going out for lunch this Sunday with friends. Essentially I'm trying to introduce some friends but in a no pressure way. We'll be in the downtown-ish area, and looking for a place that has enough well "normal" (I suck at describing) food that everyone will find something they like. Inexpensive would be better as this is just a casual lunch. There aren't many places open Sunday for lunch so I've found my choices to be very limited. We could very well just end up going to Moxie's, which sounds boring to me.
One place I've found is called Captain's Table. I liked the selections on their menu and their prices are great, but I've never heard anything about it except a review from the paper they posted on their website. I'm not looking for the best place ever, but I don't want to be disgusted and have a bad lunch ruin the set up. Any thoughts?

About this Entry
han solo
xo_superman_ox:
Aug. 30th, 2006 @ 01:16 pm (no subject)
Best thai food in Winnipeg?

Only exception is I will not go to Swatadee.

Thanks
About this Entry
vespatine78:
Aug. 4th, 2006 @ 07:37 pm (no subject)
Casa Azteca

Anybody been yet? It's really the only authentic Mexican restaurant in the city and I've been dying to go there, just none of my friends like really spicy food. If it's super great, I'll just go there by myself sometime. That is, unless some random stranger wants to go on a lunch hookup sometime soon :D
About this Entry
pups
arbydar:
Jul. 24th, 2006 @ 03:28 pm (no subject)
Current Mood: excitedexcited
Hello!

My question for today is this: Tomorrow is my 2 year wedding anniversary and we want to go somewhere reasonably priced, tasty and close to home (Ft.Rouge) any suggestions? The only real restriction is that my husband can't handle super spicy things, but other than that it's all good.

It doesn't have to have a hugely romantic atmosphere, but some place that doesn't feel like a cafeteria (like Daily Burger) would be nice.
About this Entry
the lake
krystinephantom:
Jul. 14th, 2006 @ 12:42 pm (no subject)
We all gotta work late tonight and the boss is buying dinner.

Usually we end up with cheap pizza cause we can't decide (or Gondola's which is alright but I'm kinda sick of it.)

I need suggestions please. :)

Restrictions: Not OVERLY expensive, takes credit card, delivery avail. to our area (Route 90 between Dublin & Notre Dame).

Anyone got any decent ideas for something different or just really good?
About this Entry
Tree Stars
catoneiric: