?

Log in

No account? Create an account
About this Journal
This community is to review Winnipeg Restaurants. Tell us everything about your experience. How was the food? The service? The atmosphere? What kind of dishes did you have? Would you go back? Did they have good prices? What was the menu like? Was there a dish that stood out above the rest?

Tell us EVERYTHING!
Current Month
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031
Jun. 18th, 2006 @ 07:22 pm Thai food
I love Thai food almost as much as I love Thailand, and fortunately for me there is no shortage of Thai restaurants in Winnipeg. My top 3 Winnipeg Thai restaurants:

1. Magic Thailand: Authentic down to the XO coffee candies! My vote for best phat thai.
2. Vientiane: Delicious and reasonably-priced Lao-Thai food. Have only eaten here once, but will definitely go back.
3. Thida's: The matsaman curry is to die for and it's owned/operated by a really nice Thai family.
About this Entry
monk with stereo
makeupmymind:
Jun. 11th, 2006 @ 07:01 pm Mise
Anyone been to Mise lately? Is it worth the price?
About this Entry
nuclearali:
May. 18th, 2006 @ 02:14 pm Bistro Dansk
My new favourite restaurant for the past few months has been Bistro Dansk, 63 Sherbrook St. just a block up from Misericordia Hospital (map).Look for the yellow canopy.

It's a Danish restaurant with good hearty food (you know it's good when you can see grandma in the kitchen). Prices are reasonable (~$16) and the portions are huge. Go hungry or split one entree with two people.

It's a pretty small menu with most of the emphasis on their meat & potato dishes (schnitzels, frikadellers, etc.), but there are a few other dishes to choose from as well. Their soups are fantastic and a large serving (~$5) is easily a meal on its own. There's a selection of homemade desserts available as well, so check the whiteboard on the wall for what's available (I once had a meal composed entirely of their desserts).

The service is always friendly and food comes relatively quick.
About this Entry
minima_de_malis:
May. 18th, 2006 @ 01:01 pm Cora's - waverley location
Current Mood: goodgood
Current Music: blur - the universal
Hi everyone;

Just thought i would add in my two cents about my visit to Cora's Breakfast & Lunch ('chez cora' as it is known in Que.).

I went on Mother's day, very early in the AM. I was really hoping for a satisfying breakfast, but found i left hungry and paid way too much for what we had.

My breakfast was a raspberry crepe, "raspberries for lucie" i think it is called. I would call it Raspberry Overkill. I LOVE berries, but there were tooooo many raspberries and they were very sour. the crepe was superthin and tasteless, with about a cup of these sour raspberries, and chunks of cream cheese. again, the raspberries so overpowering that you could not taste the cream cheese even! I would have enjoyed this more if it were half the price... $10.25 for one lonely crepe was far too much.

My fiance had the steak and eggs. It was $12.95. He says the steak was much thinner than he had ever had before (he had been to cora's before), and was not cooked to his request. The serving of scrambled eggs was very tiny. Of course, it being Mother's Day, we did not complain out of politeness. His hashbrowns were burned, too. Since it was so early in the morning, there was not even a rush yet. We were hoping our food would have been fresher and bigger portions for the price.

Maybe it just wasn't what I expected, and I would definitely order something else if I am to go again. I think most people would be better off getting breakfast somewhere else for a lot cheaper.

s
About this Entry
chemicalmagic:
Apr. 3rd, 2006 @ 09:55 pm (no subject)
A few months ago a restaurant in St. B was profiled in the Free Press. I think it was newly opened by a couple from France, and they apparently served really authentic and cheap French food. Any idea what the name was?
About this Entry
nuclearali:
Mar. 29th, 2006 @ 10:33 pm (no subject)
Anyone been to Bistro 7 1/4? I don't know if I got the name right, but it's across the street from Lux Sole.
About this Entry
nuclearali:
Mar. 24th, 2006 @ 01:17 pm FYI
Current Mood: tiredtired
If you sign up for red lobster's newsletter on their website, you get a printable coupon for free dessert or appetizer with two adult meals.

Don't sign up until you plan on going there, because it expires a couple of weeks after they send it to you.

EDIT: It's actually called the overboard club, or something like that.
About this Entry
Tree Stars
catoneiric:
Mar. 22nd, 2006 @ 12:25 pm (no subject)
I found this site looking for restaurant coupons so I thought I'd post it here in case some of you haven't seen it: Winnipeg Restaurant Menus. Ever wanna go out for dinner but don't know where, or what you want? This is perfect!

As a side note.. does anyone know of any deals going on right now? My mom and I are going to the WAG for the commercials thingy and we wanna grab a bite after but we're both too broke to spend too much - don't want fast food either. Suggestions? Know of anyone who has printable coupons or anything like that?
About this Entry
Tree Stars
catoneiric:
Mar. 6th, 2006 @ 10:06 pm Dragon Palace
I went there for dinner on Saturday with some friends, they said they've been a few times and said it was delicious so I thought I'd try it out. It wasn't the best tasting Chinese food I've had. It was totally Americanized and they cooked with Canola oil which makes me gag to smell and hurl if I can smell it while I'm eating. I had to order a Pepsi to offset the gross smell.

The Chinese (that's what I am) say that if you see a lot of Chinese people in a Chinese restaurant that means it's good. I was the only Chinese in there besides the owners.

The soup was good cream of corn with chicken. The beef brisket with fried tofu was delicious. The other things were okay. I liked the ginger beef, but I don't really order that when I'm out with my family. The scallop cooked in black bean was okay but not enough black bean. We had 10 dishes and it came to about $20 per person. I felt ripped off.

My friends really liked the chow mein and garlic prawns.

I wished we went for ribs instead.

The service was great, I spoke Cantonese to the wait staff and they loved it because I was with my Caucasian and Filipino friends. They're religious so I thought it was weird that someone said grace before the meal.
About this Entry
monkey
dr_seussie:
Feb. 20th, 2006 @ 08:17 am kelekis
hey everybody, i thought i would report back on my trip to kelekis. i went there based on the review further below, and darn skippy, wouldn't you know, the club sandwich was DEE-LISH.

the only problem was my dining companion got his food about 20 mins before mine!! the waitress was very apologetic and gave us a free milkshake, so that evened things out nicely. good milkshake too.

i had heard a lot about the famous 'chips' but i was surprisingly disappointed when they arrived. they were fresh, but i found the serving a bit small and a lot of little fry bits, not really any fries over 2-3 inches long. they kinda tasted like mcdonalds fries.

but i did enjoy it, and at least now i can say i have been there after 12 years!! thanks guys.
About this Entry
chemicalmagic: